Winners Announced for 2019 Greater Victoria Business Awards

The Greater Victoria Chamber of Commerce has named their 2019 winners of the Greater Victoria Business Awards.

Jill Van Gyn
Jill Van Gyn of Fatso. Photograph by Ellie Matheson.

The Greater Victoria Chamber of Commerce is proud to announce the winners of tonight’s 2019 Greater Victoria Business Awards gala.

The winners distinguished themselves in many categories and many ways, including excellent customer service, sustainable business practices, young entrepreneurship and business leadership.

From start-ups to local legends, The Chamber’s 2019 Greater Victoria Business Awards showcase hard-working businesses, business people and community leaders in 14 categories worth celebrating.

Winners were chosen by an independent panel of prominent business leaders who served as judges.

“Tonight’s gala event was an amazing way for members of The Chamber to celebrate what has been an exceptional year for our organization and business in Greater Victoria,” Catherine Holt, CEO of the Greater Victoria Chamber of Commerce, said. “This is the first time we’ve had a tie for an award, but our finalists for Business Leadership were both so amazing that the judges decided they should share the award. All of tonight’s winners and finalists embody a remarkable dedication to leadership and business excellence.”

  • Philanthropist and furniture store magnate Gordy Dodd received the 2019 Governors’ Lifetime Achievement Award, which honours an individual for his or her outstanding leadership and accomplishments over the decades.
  • Talentcor’s Rose Arsenault has been named The Chamber’s Member of the Year. This award recognizes an individual who has served as a volunteer at The Chamber, has taken an active role with the board or committees, fosters relationships with the community and advocates on behalf of business.

The Chamber’s 2019 Greater Victoria Business Awards were held May 16, at the Fairmont Empress.

With 1,400 members, The Chamber’s mission is to serve Greater Victoria by working together to build good business and great community through advocacy, networking events, professional development and other unique activities. Find out more at

2019 Business Awards winners and finalists


Business Leadership; sponsored by Coast Capital Savings

  • WINNER: Chard Development Ltd.
  • WINNER: Kinetic Construction

Innovation; sponsored by University of Victoria, Peter B. Gustavson School of Business

  • WINNER: Wildplay Elements Park

Outstanding Customer Service; sponsored by Innov8 Digital Solutions Inc.

  • WINNER: Wallace Driving School
  • FINALIST: Connect Hearing

 Sustainable Business Practices; sponsored by Camosun College

  • WINNER: Iredale Architecture
  • FINALIST: Clean Air Yard Care

 New Business; sponsored by Peninsula Co-op

  • WINNER: Fatso High Performance Peanut Butter
  • FINALIST: Urban Bee Honey Farm

Business Person of the Year; sponsored by Deloitte Canada

  • WINNER: Toni Desrosiers, Abeego
  • FINALIST: Brian Henry, Ocean River Sports and Adventures

Young Entrepreneur of the Year; sponsored by Royal Roads University

  • WINNER: Anton Ihl, E:Né Raw Food Sake Bar
  • FINALIST: Tyler Glashutter, RE-LY Metal

 Outstanding Workplace of the Year sponsored by Ralmax Group of Companies

  • WINNER: Fernwood Coffee Company
  • FINALIST: CHEK Media Group

Non-Profit of the Year; sponsored by Children’s Health Foundation of Vancouver Island

  • WINNER: Victoria Women in Need Community Cooperative
  • FINALIST: Broadmead Care

Business of the Year (1-10 Employees); sponsored by City of Victoria

  • WINNER: Luv-A-Rug Services Inc.
  • FINALIST: National Education Consulting Inc. (NECI)

Business of the Year (11-39 Employees); sponsored by TELUS Communications

  • WINNER: AOT Technologies
  • FINALIST: LIDA Homes Inc.

Business of the Year (40+ Employees); sponsored by Wilson’s Group of Companies

  • WINNER: Berwick Retirement Communities
  • FINALIST: The Root Cellar Village Green Grocer

Chamber Member of the Year; sponsored by Air Canada

Governors’ Lifetime Achievement Award; sponsored by The Times Colonist

This news release was received May 2019.