VIATeC Announces Nominees for 2014 Technology Awards

VIATeC Technology Awards Douglas Vancouver Island Magazine

Victoria Advanced Technology Council’s 2014 awards — the 13th installment of the annual event — boasts a record number of finalists, with VIATeC announcing 49 companies and individuals in 10 different categories.

The awards celebrate the achievements of technology companies responsible for making Greater Victoria the fastest growing technology region in B.C. The awards provide well-deserved recognition for some of Victoria’s most innovative firms and a great opportunity for the local technology community to gather and celebrate each other’s successes.

VIATeC also announced that Owen Matthews will receive the Colin Lennox Award for Technology Champion and that the VIATeC Member of the Year award will go to Limbic Media.

Winners will be presented at a gala evening June 20 at the Victoria Conference Centre. Last year’s gala saw a record-breaking crowd celebrating the tech winners and the evening morphed into a “distributed dance party,” a sound and light promenade of nearly 1,000 gala attendees and dance party aficionados, who worked their way through the downtown core, moving from the awards gala to the Legislature and then on to the after-party at Club 9one9.
This year’s Finalists:

Technology Company of the Year:




UNIT4 Business Software

Emerging Technology Company of the Year:

Cloud Practice Inc



Quaternion Aerospace Inc.

Red Brick Media


Executive of the Year:

CAMACC Systems – Ho Kim

Cloud Practice Inc – Jordan Visco

Cognilab Technologies – Jose Barrios

FriesenPress – Tammara Kennelly

Innovative Excellence:

AML Oceanographic Ltd.

RaceRocks 3D Inc.


Strategy of the Year:

Atomic Crayon

Caorda Web Solutions

FCV Technologies Ltd.

PlusROI Online Marketing Inc.

Red Brick Media

Product of the Year:

Go2mobi: Real-time Bidding Demand-Side Platform

Kiind: Pay-on-use Gift Platform

UNIT4 Business Software: Agresso Milestone 4

Employee/Team of the Year:



Limbic Media

RingPartner Inc



Employer of the Year:

Cerner (Island Health Innovation)

Enrollment Resources Inc.



StarFish Medical

Start-up of the Year:

Cognilab Technologies


Engenuics Technologies Inc.


TinyMob Games Inc.

VidTime Online Inc.

Education Champion:

Danita Stewart – SD62

Mary Chiapetta, Petra Eggert, Jessica Hoyt – SD61

Tanya Ross – SD61

Jake West – PSII

Tickets are available here.