2016 VIATEC Technology Awards Finalists Announced

The Victoria high-tech sector has announced the finalists for the 15th Annual VIATEC Technology Awards.

After sifting through a record-breaking 189 nominations, VIATEC has announced it’s 58 finalists for its 13 award categories; the largest amount of finalists the event has ever enjoyed. The awards will be handed out at a gala on the evening of June 24th at the Victoria Conference Centre.

VIATEC also revealed that Jim Hayhurst will receive the Colin Lennox Award for Technology Champion and Ladies Learning Code will receive the VIATEC Member of the Year award.

Dan Gunn, CEO of VIATEC explained, “Jim Hayhurst, CEO of Pretio Interactive, has played a key role in our community as a leader of initiatives, a spokesperson, a supporter and a role model. He understands what it takes to shape a strong and vibrant community and we are honoured to recognize him as the Tech Champion he is. I think Colin Lennox would have been very proud to see the award named after him bestowed on such a stand-up guy.”

“Ladies Learning Code have really made a difference in our community in a short time,” commented Gunn. “Their efforts to teach valuable coding skills to women of all ages is playing a significant role in encouraging more of them to enter the tech sector and to use those skills as entrepreneurs. Their events not only sell out but they manage to engage the entire tech community as teachers, mentors, sponsors and supporters. That is exactly the community mindedness and focus we need to continue to grow our local tech scene. It is our honour to hold them up as an example.”

The record number of finalists were pulled from a total of 189 nominations (which blew away the previous record by over 50%). There were so many incredible candidates that multiple awards have been split into sub-categories.

“We have never witnessed this level of excitement about the VIATEC Awards,” explained Gunn. “On top of the record breaking nominations, we have seen tickets selling faster than ever.” Over 600 tickets have already sold and steps are being taken to increase capacity to as many as 850 which would see the Victoria Conference Centre bursting at the seams.

The awards celebrate the achievements of technology companies responsible for making Greater Victoria the fastest growing technology region in BC, as well as the leaders, creators and innovators that have driven the local tech sector to over $3 billion in annual sales and Victoria’s largest private industry.

The 2016 Finalists are:

Technology Company of the year has been split into three categories based on employee count.

Technology Company of the Year (50+ employees):

(Sponsored by: Farris, Vaughan, Wills & Murphy LLP)

Technology Company of the Year (11-49 employees):

(Sponsored by: Farris, Vaughan, Wills & Murphy LLP)

Technology Company of the Year (1-10 employees):

(Sponsored by: Farris, Vaughan, Wills & Murphy LLP)

Emerging Technology Company of the Year:

(Sponsored by: KPMG LLP)

Startup of the Year:

(Sponsored by: University of Victoria)

Product of the Year:

(Sponsored by: RBC Commercial Services)

Innovative Excellence – Software or Service:

(Sponsored by: Grant Thornton LLP)

Innovative Excellence – Hardware:

(Sponsored by: Grant Thornton LLP)

Executive of the Year:

(Sponsored by: Corporate Recruiters)

Employee of the Year:

(Sponsored by: Thompson Cooper LLP)

Team of the Year:

(Sponsored by: Thompson Cooper LLP)

Employer of the Year:

(Sponsored by: Megson FitzPatrick)

Creative Excellence:

(Sponsored by: AbeBooks.com)

The Colin Lennox Award for Technology Champion:

(Sponsored by: Reed Pope LLP)

VIATEC Member of the Year:

(Sponsored by: Cox Taylor LLP)