VIATeC's Tops in Tech 2012

Finalists have been selected for the 2012 VIATeC Technology Awards scheduled for May 31 at the Victoria Conference Centre.
The Victoria Advanced Technology Council (VIATeC) says Greater Victoria is home to an enormous amount of tech talent — and the number of submissions for the industry association’s annual awards proves this point.
Three of the finalists — SendtoNews, YUPIQ, and First Light Technologies — are 2012 winners of Douglas magazine’s 10 to Watch competition.
The VIATeC Technology Awards celebrate the achievements of technology companies responsible for making Greater Victoria the fastest-growing technology region in British Columbia. Now in its 11th year, the awards provide recognition for some of Victoria’s most innovative firms and a great opportunity for the local tech community to gather and celebrate each other’s successes.
“We look forward to another exciting night of recognition and networking. We are proud that so many look forward to this event and honoured to play a role in highlighting the people, companies, and innovations that make technology Victoria’s largest revenue-producing industry,” says VIATeC executive director Dan Gunn.
“We’ve received so many nominations this year that we have split the Innovative Excellence Award into three categories and separated the Employee/Team of the Year Award into two. We are thankful to everyone that takes the time to nominate and get involved each and every year.”
The finalists for the 2012 VIATeC Technology Awards are:
Technology Company of the Year:

  • Contech Enterprises Inc.
  • HP Advanced Solutions Inc.
  • UNIT4 Business Software

Emerging Technology Company of the Year:

  • First Light Technologies Ltd.
  • MediaCore
  • SendtoNews
  • Tutela Technologies Ltd.
  • Wifarer Inc.

Product of the Year:

  • Carmanah Technologies, EG Series Solar LED Outdoor Lighting System
  • RevenueWire, CallStream Program
  • ShipConstructor Software Inc., AutoCAD based CAD/CAM Program

Executive of the Year:

  • Ron deBruyne, CEO, Edoc Systems Group
  • Troy Griffiths, President & CEO, Vigil Health Solutions
  • Darren Larkins, CEO, ShipConstructor Software Inc.
  • Shelley Zapp, President, UNIT4 Business Software

Innovative Excellence (Software):

  • Applied Brain and Vision Sciences
  • Bet Smart Media
  • MediaCore
  • Procura
  • Udutu Online Learning Solutions

Innovative Excellence (Hardware):

  • First Light Technologies Ltd.
  • iBoard Canada Manufacturing Inc.
  • ViVitro Labs Inc.

Innovative Excellence (Process):

  • Q5 Innovations Inc.
  • Race Rocks 3D Inc.
  • Saanich School District

Community Involvement:

  • Atomic Crayon
  • Neverblue Media
  • ParetoLogic Inc.
  • Schneider Electric

Online Strategy of the Year:

  • Atomic Crayon
  • Neverblue

Employee of the Year:

  • Rian Bowden, PlusROI Online Marketing Inc.
  • Loren Stewart, KANO/APPS
  • Mark Waldie, ShipConstructor Software Inc.

Team of the Year:

  • GeoDigital International, Production Lead Team
  • KANO/APPS, Creative Team
  • Race Rocks 3D Inc., Artists and Developers Team
  • Neverblue, Cross Functional Team
  • YUPIQ, Development Team

Employer of the Year:

  • Smart Dolphins IT Solutions

VIATeC congratulates all the finalists and everyone who was nominated. Visit the official Tech Awards website for more information.